Profile picture
, 10 tweets, 3 min read Read on Twitter
It's not an option in this house.

Meaning, we treat a bachelor's degree as a high school diploma.

Our child is a decade away from college and more high schools are already doing an associate's with your diploma.

He can study *whatever* he chooses. Total freedom in that.
I don't consider it pushing. I consider it setting norms, just as we've normalized acquiring a high school diploma. Is that optional?

Besides, I'm not financially supporting anyone over the age of 18 who's not a full-time college student.

*Not happening*
So if you choose not to attend college full-time while in my home, I can't force it.

But you'd better have a plan because I sure in the hell do.

In 10 years, I'll be 52, downsizing, traveling, reclaiming ALL of my time.

I'm planning my next decade now.🤣

@ShimminyKricket
I'll even throw in a "gap year" to travel, intern or explore your passions, etc.

But you will not be sitting up in my home on my dime after I've invested all this money on your private school education.

This ain't a permanent support setup, #SorryNotSorry 🤣

@ShimminyKricket
I kid y'all not.

I'm doing my best to stay present during this parenting life phase, but I am vividly dreaming about the future.

I do not plan to have empty nest angst wondering what to do with myself.

I already see the places I'll visit, down to my fitness level & wardrobe.💅
My child and I watch a television series call "Tiny House Nation" and he knows I'm downsizing.

I've put my spouse on notice too.

He doesn't like to aim high with the steering wheel, but I do.

It's how I'm wired.

So he can stay in this McMansion by himself or come along.🤣
I've done the suburban life since 2006. I was 29 years old. Married at 30. Childbirth at 35.

I've been in the suburbs living the McMansion life for 13 years. Add my child going off to college in a decade and that will be 23 years of my life.

I'm not doing this sht forever.
I've said it many times on this platform. I greedy.

I want ALL the experiences.

20's - single, urban professional✔
30's - married childfree ✔
40s - family, suburbia life (in progress)
50s - adventure, exploring, maintaining fitness & health, more time for hobbies, more social
Like after spending 23 years total in a suburban McMansion I'd want to continue on this path.

Please. 🙄 Next experience!

That's why I'm getting my own She Shed in our backyard. I yearn for a small, intimate 100% DECLUTTERED space.

The people I live with are hoarders!!
😭

But in the meantime, as I've said, I'm going to enjoy this phase of raising a child. They grow up so fast.

I'm going to savor it......while simultaneously becoming fluent in 3 other languages, keeping physically fit, eating healthy foods and dreaming VERY big for myself.
Missing some Tweet in this thread?
You can try to force a refresh.

Like this thread? Get email updates or save it to PDF!

Subscribe to Kim Love
Profile picture

Get real-time email alerts when new unrolls are available from this author!

This content may be removed anytime!

Twitter may remove this content at anytime, convert it as a PDF, save and print for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video

1) Follow Thread Reader App on Twitter so you can easily mention us!

2) Go to a Twitter thread (series of Tweets by the same owner) and mention us with a keyword "unroll" @threadreaderapp unroll

You can practice here first or read more on our help page!

Follow Us on Twitter!

Did Thread Reader help you today?

Support us! We are indie developers!


This site is made by just three indie developers on a laptop doing marketing, support and development! Read more about the story.

Become a Premium Member ($3.00/month or $30.00/year) and get exclusive features!

Become Premium

Too expensive? Make a small donation by buying us coffee ($5) or help with server cost ($10)

Donate via Paypal Become our Patreon

Thank you for your support!