FALL OF THE PRISON CHRISTIAN ABOLITIONIST SEMINAR

In 1993, Lee Griffith published “The Fall of the Prison: Biblical Perspectives on Prison Abolition”. Scholar Walter Wink says this text “unmasks the whole system of revenge that masquerades as ‘correctional’ institutions”.
Three decades later, Griffith’s landmark book remains one of the only texts addressing a specifically Christian approach to prison abolition.
In a political and spiritual season in which conversations about police and prison abolition have moved from the fringe to the mainstream, we invite you to join us in a five-week seminar devoted to studying this classic text.
We will meet weekly for an hour on Tuesdays from September 29 through October 27, at 5pm PT / 6pm MT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET. Each meeting will focus on one of the book’s five chapters, & will be facilitated by Christian abolitionist pastors, educators, & activists from across the US.
Ch. 1 (Sept 29): David Brazil & Sarah Pritchard, @AbolitionChurch
Ch. 2 (Oct 6): @micahherskind, #8toabolition
Chap. 3 (Oct 13): @hannahnpbowman, christiansforabolition.org
Ch. 4 (Oct 20): Richard Thomas, @FightXPrisons
Ch. 5 (Oct 27): @reverendaughter , reverenddaughter.com
This seminar is free and open to all. It’s an opportunity to deepen scriptural and theological literacy in community, as well as to welcome Christians new to the abolitionist conversation (and Christian-curious abolitionists!) into political education.
If you’re interested in joining this seminar, please RSVP to abolitionapostles@gmail.com and we will provide you with the Zoom link. Please also feel free to get in touch with any questions, and to spread this invitation far and wide!

• • •

Missing some Tweet in this thread? You can try to force a refresh
 

Keep Current with Abolition-Apostles

Abolition-Apostles Profile picture

Stay in touch and get notified when new unrolls are available from this author!

Read all threads

This Thread may be Removed Anytime!

PDF

Twitter may remove this content at anytime! Save it as PDF for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video
  1. Follow @ThreadReaderApp to mention us!

  2. From a Twitter thread mention us with a keyword "unroll"
@threadreaderapp unroll

Practice here first or read more on our help page!

Did Thread Reader help you today?

Support us! We are indie developers!


This site is made by just two indie developers on a laptop doing marketing, support and development! Read more about the story.

Become a Premium Member ($3/month or $30/year) and get exclusive features!

Become Premium

Too expensive? Make a small donation by buying us coffee ($5) or help with server cost ($10)

Donate via Paypal Become our Patreon

Thank you for your support!

Follow Us on Twitter!