✨ Jean Yang ✨ Profile picture
May 13, 2021 6 tweets 8 min read Read on X
Taylor Swift as notable #AAPI computer scientists. 🧵

Andrew Yao, 2000 Turing Award Winner. Known for proving Yao's Principle. See also: Yao's Millionaire's problem.

#AAPIMonth
Raj Reddy, winner of the 1994 Turing Award for pioneering work in artificial intelligence. Mentor to @kaifulee.

#AAPIMonth
@kaifulee Jeannette Wing, who co-developed the Liskov Substitution Principle. Leader in formal methods research. Head of @SCSatCMU 2004-2007 and 2010-2012.

#AAPIMonth
@kaifulee @SCSatCMU Peter Lee, head of @MSFTResearch. Head of @SCSatCMU 2005-2008. Co-developer proof-carrying code.

#AAPIMonth
@kaifulee @SCSatCMU @MSFTResearch Victor Zue, former head of @MIT_CSAIL (and my student advisor when I was a PhD student there). Pioneer in speech processing.

#AAPIMonth
@kaifulee @SCSatCMU @MSFTResearch @MIT_CSAIL Harry Shum, known for work on computer vision, graphics, and on @bing, of which he was previously the VP. Previously head of MSR Asia.

#AAPIMonth

• • •

Missing some Tweet in this thread? You can try to force a refresh

Keep Current with ✨ Jean Yang ✨

✨ Jean Yang ✨ Profile picture

Stay in touch and get notified when new unrolls are available from this author!

Read all threads

This Thread may be Removed Anytime!

PDF

Twitter may remove this content at anytime! Save it as PDF for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video
  1. Follow @ThreadReaderApp to mention us!

2. From a Twitter thread mention us with a keyword "unroll"
@threadreaderapp unroll

Practice here first or read more on our help page!

More from @jeanqasaur

Oct 20, 2023
When I started Akita, we had an office and people loved coming in.

In 2020, I pivoted almost my entire team. A big part of it: finding people who worked well remotely.

What I learned about remote vs in-office: they require VERY different cultures. You can't just flip a switch!

🧵/
Before 2020, I had my biases about offices.