Ezio Profile picture
22 Jul, 17 tweets, 11 min read
A Thread about Chidabhasa.

What does the word, "Chidabhasa" mean?

In Sanskrit, Chidabhasa translates to 'reflection of Brahman' or universal self. According to Hindu philosophy, the self can be divided into the individual (jiva) and the universal (brahman).

The reflection of the universal self within the individual is Chidabhasa, a kind of self-realisation, essential on the path toward enlightenment.

When one is stuck in the suffering of the gross, physical body (Annamaya Kosha), it is impossible to recognise the soul as a reflection of Brahman, leading to avidya, or ignorance.

Stages and categories of Chidabhasa :-

There are 7 stages of Chidabhasa divided it into 2 categories.

Categories are as follows :-

1. Bandha (Bondage)
2. Moksha (Liberation)

Bandha is further divided into 3 stages. They are :-

i) Ajnana
ii) Avarana
iii) Vikshepa

Moksha is further divided into 4 stages. They are :-

i) Paroksha
ii) Aparoksha
iii) Shoka Nivritti
iv) Tripti

7 stages of Chidabhasa :-

Firstly, the 3 stages of Bandha.

i) Ajnana - Ignorance, also known as Avidya. This is the state in which a person thinks that they are their thoughts, and that and the physical world is the only reality.

There is know knowledge or understanding of any sense of self.

ii) Avarana - Denial, veiling or concealment, in which the self is thought of as an object to be proven. This is a form of expressed ignorance or mistaken knowledge.

iii) Vikshepa - Projection, where there is an erroneous understanding of the self, and an underlying frustration of not being able to experience it.

Secondly, the 4 stages of Moksha.

iv) Paroksha - Indirect knowledge. The person develops faith in Vedanta and learns about the existence of the self, but believes it can only be understood by great masters.

v) Aparoksha - Direct knowledge. An experiential understanding of the self, no longer as an outer object but as an inner, conscious subject.

vi) Shoka Nivritti - The end of suffering, otherwise known as moksha, in which the knowledge that 'I am the self' provides liberation. This is where seeking and worrying about the self stops.

vii) Tripti - Full satisfaction with what is, a sense of spiritual nourishment and deep understanding that the universal self is reflected in the individual self.

Searched about this Chidabhasa after reading @gilgamesh_402's tweet. Credits goes to him. Take a look at his thread.


• • •

Missing some Tweet in this thread? You can try to force a refresh

Keep Current with Ezio

Ezio Profile picture

Stay in touch and get notified when new unrolls are available from this author!

Read all threads

This Thread may be Removed Anytime!


Twitter may remove this content at anytime! Save it as PDF for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video
  1. Follow @ThreadReaderApp to mention us!

  2. From a Twitter thread mention us with a keyword "unroll"
@threadreaderapp unroll

Practice here first or read more on our help page!

Did Thread Reader help you today?

Support us! We are indie developers!

This site is made by just two indie developers on a laptop doing marketing, support and development! Read more about the story.

Become a Premium Member ($3/month or $30/year) and get exclusive features!

Become Premium

Too expensive? Make a small donation by buying us coffee ($5) or help with server cost ($10)

Donate via Paypal Become our Patreon

Thank you for your support!

Follow Us on Twitter!