How much ad spend should I budget when targeting an INFLUENCER’S audience via FB/IG ads? (Thread)
2/ Ad spend amount is completely contingent on the influencer’s audience size!
3/ As you can imagine, if you’re working with a Macro influencer with 1M followers in comparison to a micro influencer with 10k followers, your budget for ad spend will be substantially different when targeting their audiences via FB/IG ads.
4/ I’m sure many of you could have guessed the above but what is a practical way to calculate how you should budget for FB/IG ads based on the influencer’s audience size?
5/ Follow this simple formula laid out below...
CPM (Cost Per 1000 Impressions) / 1000 Impressions =
X (Ad Spend Budget) / Influencer Audience Size
6/ See image attached for a cleaner look at this formula...
7/ Each of the variables within this formula are available to us as we look to solve for Ad Spend Budget.
7/ Let’s run through an example...
If I’m targeting Jessica Alba’s audience, how much should we budget for ad spend if I want to make sure every single one of her followers is served this ad?
8/ Conservatively we can project CPMs will be $10 when targeting her audience.
With her audience consisting of 18.2M people, we can now solve for the ad spend needed to reach every single person within her audience.
9/ See the formula attached to calculate the amount of ad spend it would take to serve an ad to every single one of Jessica Alba's Instagram followers.
10/ When solving for X, our needed ad spend to reach every single person in her audience comes out to be $182,000.
11/ This amount of ad spend is a calculation to serve ads to every single person in her audience at a frequency of 1, meaning every follower would see this content one time.
12/ Our recommendation would be to make sure to budget enough ad spend to ensure you hit at least a frequency of 2 here, serving Jessica Alba's HelloFresh content to her audience at least twice.
13/ $182,000 x 2= $364,000 in Ad Spend
14/ Of course not everyone has the budget to work with Celebrity influencers like Jessica Alba but she is a mere example to bring this formula to life.
This is applicable when working with micro influencers as well.
15/ For example, if you have a micro influencer with 50,000 Followers, it'd only cost $500 to serve an ad to every single person within that influencer's audience.
16/ No matter how big or small the audience size of the influencers you are working with, this formula will help your team project the needed ad spend to make the most out of your influencer paid media partnerships!
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How do you think you’d be able to allocate a $1M ad budget?
A) Highest Volume
B) Cost Caps
I’d bet I’d be able to spend a $1M budget more effectively using Cost Caps than using Highest Volume.
Here’s a full breakdown of my reasoning:
First, to establish some fundamentals:
• Highest Volume campaigns prioritize SPEND (they’ll spend your budget no matter the CPA)
• Cost Cap campaigns prioritize PERFORMANCE (they’ll only spend when profitable)
The hesitation brands have around Cost Caps is usually a fear that they won’t be able to spend their budget.
Let me walk you through why this isn’t something to be afraid of, and how you’d be better able to allocate a $1M budget using CC over HV.
The anatomy of a successful Influencer Marketing program
From someone who’s placed 350K+ influencers with brands and driven 100M+ in revenue
🧵👇
1) Product seeding — the foundation of any successful influencer strategy is getting your product in their hands.
Rather than a salesy pay-per-post approach (that leads to inauthentic content), we’ve found success with Influencer Seeding.
2) Organic posting — The influencers that are the best fits for your product will be stoked to have gotten some in the mail, and post about it unprompted.