Mr. Ryan. 🍉 Profile picture
Oct 1, 2021 132 tweets 37 min read Read on X
alright let's talk about bionicles
The year is 2018, I am participating in a seasonal drawing challenge focused on line art. Let’s call it, Inkuary. Rather than using a prompt list I decide to use my memories of the Legend of Zelda series inspiration for my daily drawings. I have a lot of those, so it went well.
It is 2019, and Inkuary is around the corner. Again foregoing the usage of a prompt, I look to something else I have enough knowledge and memories of to do 31 drawings of.

That would be Bionicle, something I have a PhD in Image
keeping all of my drawings in one twitter thread, i chronicle the events of the first generation of bionicle. it is 307 tweets long, with a lot more drawings than a measly 31.

it is my favorite thing i've done on this website and you can read it here threadreaderapp.com/thread/1178883…
it is August 2020. amidst the chaos and fear of the pandemic and how the leaders of the world handled it (or lack thereof) the man most associated with Inkuary, Pake Jarker is revealed to be a plagiarist, as well as some weird things about the ownership of the word Inkuary
seeing an opportunity to talk about Bionicle again, without the shackles of all the discourse of traditional vs. digital art in a line art challenge, i said that october was #BionicleMonth
now i will be associated with bionicle month and when i do something bad you will go on and make october a new month
but anyways, it is still 2020 and i make a new bionicle drawings thread, chronicling the second generation of bionicle. it was a bright happy highlight for me in a year devoid of such things

you can read it here threadreaderapp.com/thread/1311528…
the thing about gen 2 of bionicle is that at two years long, it was a lot shorter than it's decade+ long predecessor. so chronicling the events of that generation was a lot quicker and easier, and left me with a couple of days with nothing to talk about