The idea of recurring revenue sounds great, but don't be fooled—memberships are not the passive income you're looking for.

It's income, but there's nothing passive about it. 🧵👇
Creators have many monetization options, but the wrong choice in the wrong situation can lead to less money and more work.

Beware of these concepts before starting a membership:
📉 Lifetime value

Memberships have average LTVs (price * retained billing cycles). How many billing cycles do people stick around for?
Patreon suggests that the average amount of time a patron remains a member is about 3 months. If your membership costs $15 and members stick around for 3 months, your LTV is $45.

Wouldn’t you be better off building a one-time product that you can sell for $100?
🔥 You need scale

Memberships are priced much lower than one-time products, so you need a larger customer base. Patreon estimates that the average patron will pay roughly $7, and a YouTuber with 30k subscribers will earn between $315 - $1575 / m on their platform.
📵 Restricted content distribution

Putting your best content behind a paywall means you can’t use it for growth. Members can't share it. Search engines can't find it. If possible, smaller creators should prioritize audience growth over short-term monetization.
🛠 Your product is never done

When you have a membership, you have to keep creating more value to keep customers around. That means you have less time to focus on marketing to bring in new members. With a one-time product, you build it once and it's done.
There are plenty of alternatives to memberships, including:

∙ One-time sale products: courses, downloadables, ebooks, physical products, merch.
∙ Ads: AdSense, sponsorships, affiliate links.
∙ Services: consulting, coaching, or one-off engagements.
∙ Donations and tips.
Memberships can be great in the right conditions, but be aware of the downsides. If you're monetizing for the first time, you might want to consider the other options first.

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More from @ryangum

15 Jan
In the last 10 days I've grown my email list from 0 to a few hundred, gained thousands of followers, had writers I admire reach out to me, been invited onto podcasts, into communities, made new friends, and been offered some great career opportunities.

How? 🧵👇 Image
10 days ago I had a stale Twitter account, a fear of writing, and a bigger fear of publishing. Since then I've written & published 10 short essays online, & my ideas have now been seen over a million times.

In effect, online writing changed the trajectory of my life in 10 days.
Why write online? Sharing your ideas online creates more opportunities for luck. @david_perell calls this a "serendipity vehicle – a magnet for ideas and people and opportunities from potentially every corner of the globe."
Read 9 tweets
14 Jan
10 years ago, pre-recorded video and asynchronous leaning was the pinnacle of online learning.

But in 2021 and beyond, is this really the best we can do? 🧵👇 Image
The typical online course is single-player:

Load up a series of pre-recorded videos, press play, and progress through them at your own speed. Billions of dollars are spent on these courses each year. They do just fine.
But the best online courses are multiplayer:

Group-based, collaborative, and play out in real-time. When people explore the same concepts together, and take part in the same activities, at the same time... something magical happens.
Read 19 tweets
8 Jan
The most common question I'm asked is: "how did we grow Teachable?"

In 7 years we've helped over 100k creators sell more than $1B in courses & coaching.

Here's the story of how we did it.

Revenue, metrics, and monthly investor updates in 🧵
In 2013, Ankur Nagpal was a Udemy instructor selling app marketing courses.

He wanted to sell more products to his students, but because Udemy owned the students, he couldn't access any of them. What's worse, Udemy would cross-sell his students to other people's classes.
Frustrated, he started building a side project to cut out the middle man. That side project became Teachable, and 7 years later, he sold Teachable for a quarter of a billion dollars.

There are many reasons for our success, but to pick the top 3:
Read 28 tweets
7 Jan
The Compounding Creator

How one creator made $1,332,400 across 6 revenue streams in 2020:

🎬 $135k - Ads
🔥 $177k - Affiliates
💰 $182k - Sponsorships
📚 $470k - Self-paced courses
🚀 $295k - Cohort-based course
⭕️ $71k - Community

Breakdown 👇
In 2017, @aliabdaal created a YouTube channel.

He started with 0 views, 0 subs, but he posted 2 videos every single week for 6 months.

His revenue from this work? $0.

***This is when 95% of creators quit.***

But 52 vids and 6 months later he hit his first 1,000 subs.
🎬 $135,200 - Google AdSense

Channel growth:

2017: 59 vids, 1,600 subs, $0 from ads.
2018: 88 vids, 120k subs, $16,500.
2019: 62 vids, 450k subs, $44,600.
2020: 98 vids, 1.3M subs, $135,300.

More from Ali on YouTube revenue here:
Read 30 tweets
7 Jan
📈 Trend:

@Shopify Shop
@gumroad Discover
@SubstackInc Reader
@Patreon search
@teachable Discover

Why are creator-first companies exploring marketplaces?

Storytime in 🧵
In 2009, Udemy created a course marketplace.

They built a successful business by attracting students to sell instructors courses—taking a fee of sales revenue in the process.
In 2013, @ankurnagpal became a Udemy instructor, selling mobile marketing courses.

He wanted to sell more products to his students, but because Udemy owned the students, he couldn't access any of them.

Frustrated, he started building a side project.
Read 26 tweets
5 Jan
📖 Creator economy reading list

As we kick off 2021, here's a roundup of my favorite Creator Economy / Passion Economy reads from 2020, covering:

• State of the market
• State of creators
• Trends and insights
• Platform strategy

👇
How many creators are there? Who are the key players? What are the key trends? If you're looking for an overview of the creator economy, this is a great place to start.

signalfire.com/blog/creator-e… by @YuanlingY, @JoshConstine
A different take on the creator economy map, but equally as interesting. This map categorizes 150+ companies by creator lifecycle: content creation, audience growth and ownership, monetization, and biz ops.

hugo.pm/mapping-the-cr… by @HugoAmsellem
Read 19 tweets

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