Bharti #Airtel may be fighting an uphill battle to safeguard its premier position in the Indian telecom hierarchy. But its subsidiary in #Africa has been on a relentless uphill climb since it began operations there a little over a decade ago.
#AirtelAfrica is one of the three largest telecom operators on the continent. As of 2020, it provides voice services to 110.6 million customers and data services to 35.4 million customers.
With $3.4bn in turnover in the last FY, the Africa business was spun out and listed on the London and Nigerian stock exchanges.
It has a presence in 14 countries and offers a range of services including mobile wallet deposit and withdrawals, merchant and commercial payments, benefits transfers, loans and savings, virtual credit cards and international money transfers.
Airtel Africa is now betting big on the #MobileMoney business. It recently inked a $200m deal with US PE firm TPG, and is also in talks with other potential investors.
Special Purpose Acquisition Companies, or SPACs are all the rage in Wall Street of late. They are an alternative to traditional IPOs if the intent is to take the company public.
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The process is quite reverse, actually. In an IPO, a company with a defined prospectus is looking to raise funds from the market. A SPAC, on the other hand, is a company with money on its hands, looking for new business collaborations (mergers/acquisitions) to focus on.
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Recently, India's Number #1 renewable energy company, ReNew Power, opted for a SPAC-IPO to go public on the NASDAQ Exchange. As more and more companies take the SPAC route, it becomes clear that investment is no longer a goal-oriented idea but a gain-oriented idea.
#Tata Sons is one of the biggest #business conglomerates in India and around the world. Its reliance on the IT-specialisation wing, TCS has only increased.
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In FY19, TCS’ contribution to Tata’s revenue increased from 70% the year before to 90%. Contribution of non-@TCS companies shrunk by 23%.
#TCS is among the top three most valued #IT brands, but Tata’s reliance on the subsidiary may be risky.
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It has been solely responsible for the consolidation of all its digital businesses. Ratan Tata’s decision to not go public with the company may have been another factor for TCS’ operations.
Over one week, TCS lost its top place to @reliancegroup in terms of market cap.
We discuss why companies are shifting manufacturing base and supply chains away from China and how #India stands to gain much.
Read on
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A swelling chorus of voices around the globe is asking China to pay up for the damages incurred due to the deadly coronavirus outbreak. The United States-led by President #DonaldTrump is leading the troop (no surprises there!)
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A top US Senator Thom Tillis has unveiled an 18-point plan to hold China accountable.
Of these, a suggestion with the most ramification is perhaps moving manufacturing back to the US and gradually eliminating supply chain dependency on China.
What are MSMEs? And why did the #Government set aside ₹3.7Lcr ($49bn) for #MSME support?
As the name suggests, #MSMEs (Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises) are small businesses. Their definition varies by country.
In India, the definition was changed last week.
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Previously, MSMEs were defined according to investment in plant/machinery (if they were in #Manufacturing) or investment in equipment (if they were in #Services).
It went like this:
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Last Wednesday, @nsitharaman announced a new definition for #MSMEs. Manufacturing & Services were clubbed and a new parameter - annual turnover - was added.
#Zomato is paying roughly $22 for acquiring a new #UberEats customer. Here's a quick and dirty working to determine Zomato's customer acquisition cost (CAC) from the deal...
A. Zomato's current monthly users = 70m
B. Zomato's current monthly orders = 40m
i.e. 57% of Zomato users convert into placing orders...
C. Uber Eats' currently monthly orders = 10m
D. Assuming the same 57% is applied to Uber Eats...that implies = 18m monthly users
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E. Zomato says it will "transition 90% of Uber Eats users onto its platform" which equals 90% x D = 90% x 18m = 16m
F. Zomato's consideration for Uber Eats = $350m
Zomato's CAC from the deal = F/E = 350/16 = $22...