, 4 tweets, 1 min read
My Authors
Read all threads
#Zomato is paying roughly $22 for acquiring a new #UberEats customer. Here's a quick and dirty working to determine Zomato's customer acquisition cost (CAC) from the deal...
A. Zomato's current monthly users = 70m
B. Zomato's current monthly orders = 40m

i.e. 57% of Zomato users convert into placing orders...

C. Uber Eats' currently monthly orders = 10m
D. Assuming the same 57% is applied to Uber Eats...that implies = 18m monthly users
...
E. Zomato says it will "transition 90% of Uber Eats users onto its platform" which equals 90% x D = 90% x 18m = 16m

F. Zomato's consideration for Uber Eats = $350m

Zomato's CAC from the deal = F/E = 350/16 = $22...
Conclusion: Zomato always said its CACs are negligible owing to being a restaurant discovery platform where people also order.

Well, that has changed!?
Missing some Tweet in this thread? You can try to force a refresh.

Enjoying this thread?

Keep Current with Transfin.

Profile picture

Stay in touch and get notified when new unrolls are available from this author!

Read all threads

This Thread may be Removed Anytime!

Twitter may remove this content at anytime, convert it as a PDF, save and print for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video

1) Follow Thread Reader App on Twitter so you can easily mention us!

2) Go to a Twitter thread (series of Tweets by the same owner) and mention us with a keyword "unroll" @threadreaderapp unroll

You can practice here first or read more on our help page!

Follow Us on Twitter!

Did Thread Reader help you today?

Support us! We are indie developers!


This site is made by just three indie developers on a laptop doing marketing, support and development! Read more about the story.

Become a Premium Member ($3.00/month or $30.00/year) and get exclusive features!

Become Premium

Too expensive? Make a small donation by buying us coffee ($5) or help with server cost ($10)

Donate via Paypal Become our Patreon

Thank you for your support!