My Authors
Read all threads
Let's know our Mahadev...
Parts of a Shiva Linga:

1) Brahma Bhaaga (Shrushti): Base of the Linga.

2) Vishnu Bhaaga (Sthithi): Pindika (Pedestal) of Linga. Also represents the "Yoni" (Shakti)

3) Rudra Bhaaga (Laya): Puja Bhaaga of the Linga. Also represents the "Lingam" (Shiva)

4) Paanavattam (Naala): for the Water Course after abhishekam

5) Tripundra: The Shaivite Tilaka
6) Brahma Sutras: Vertical Lines on Rudra Bhaaga.

7) Sirovarttana: The Top of the Linga.

8) The Puja Bhaaga (Lingam) should always be made of "Pumshila" (Male Stone) and Pindika (Pitha/Yoni) should always be made of Strishila (Female Stone)
9) Shiva Lingas with Brahma Sutras & Sirovarttana are called "Manusha Lingas" without these, Lingas are not eligible for worship as per Agama Sastra.
Missing some Tweet in this thread? You can try to force a refresh.

Enjoying this thread?

Keep Current with Ramakrishna Kongalla🇮🇳

Profile picture

Stay in touch and get notified when new unrolls are available from this author!

Read all threads

This Thread may be Removed Anytime!

Twitter may remove this content at anytime, convert it as a PDF, save and print for later use!

Try unrolling a thread yourself!

how to unroll video

1) Follow Thread Reader App on Twitter so you can easily mention us!

2) Go to a Twitter thread (series of Tweets by the same owner) and mention us with a keyword "unroll" @threadreaderapp unroll

You can practice here first or read more on our help page!

Follow Us on Twitter!

Did Thread Reader help you today?

Support us! We are indie developers!

This site is made by just three indie developers on a laptop doing marketing, support and development! Read more about the story.

Become a Premium Member ($3.00/month or $30.00/year) and get exclusive features!

Become Premium

Too expensive? Make a small donation by buying us coffee ($5) or help with server cost ($10)

Donate via Paypal Become our Patreon

Thank you for your support!